Our Journey to Ethiopia

Documenting our Journey to Ethiopia and Adoption

Answering the call… February 2, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — sbloods @ 7:01 pm

Tuesday is my (Jessica) late lunch day. I had no particular plans on this particular Tuesday, so I called my mom. She had just finished painting her hallway and wanted me to come over to check it out. As we were standing in the hallway discussing the new color, I tell her I’m going to go make myself a PB&J, and then proceed to walk into the kitchen. Suddenly, my phone rang. Mind you I haven’t designated a ring tone for the adoption agency, so naturally I checked to see who called. After looking at the Caller ID, I became very excited and looked at my mother and stated, “That was T from our agency.” To which my mother said, “Is this the call?!?!”

I wasn’t sure it was THE call, but I couldn’t think of any other reason she would be calling me. Then I quickly called her back to which she responded, ” Do you have some time to talk?”

Obviously I said, “Yes. I have time to talk.”

To which she replied, “This IS the call you’ve been waiting for!”

Mom (Gale) then proceeded become very animated. I told T I had to call Steve and that I would call her back in 10 minutes. Then I proceeded to call Steve. Next I had to call the office and tell them that I wouldn’t be back. All I know is that somehow Lisa knew what I was saying. I’m not sure how coherent I was but she got the message!

Now on to Steve’s reaction to THE CALL!!!!

So, I (Steve) was driving home from work last Tuesday when I got a call from Jess. Now understand, this isn’t an abnormal event to happen on my way home from work. But on this particular call, Jess started asking me in a seemingly excited state, “Are you on your way home? You have to get home now! T called!”

At first I was confused by her excited state, why she wanted me home so quickly, and who this T was that needed to talk to me so urgently. Then it dawned on me. This was THE call we have been waiting for! The actual call matching us with a child. Our referral!!!

So now in an excited voice myself I started saying, “Oh my gosh! Oh my gosh! Oh my gosh! The call! The call! I’ll be home in a moment!”  Sitting through the light I inevitably sit through most days was almost unbearable! But traffic seemed to be favoring me this particular afternoon and I made it home with little hassle.

Now it is 2:30 and I (Jessica) still haven’t eaten any lunch and am running around trying to prepare for THE CALL while trying to get food before I fainted. Steve arrived in record time and was very excited as he barged through the front door. We curled up on the bed with laptops and cellphones and then called T back.

She, of course, had a bunch of paperwork she had to walk us through before we actually got pictures of our beautiful son. Waiting for the pictures to download seemed like an eternity. And then there he was! Love at first sight! We were looking at a healthy, handsome little two month old that was now going to be our child.

I (Steve) was overcome with emotion (go figure…) while looking at my new son. Jess was shaking like a leaf.

We then called family and some close friends to give them the news! Mimi and Pa then took us out to celebrate!!! Of course, this was after pictures had been printed (and Pa found his Olive Garden coupon!).

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Answering the call…”

  1. Hannah Says:

    Jess and Steve I am so happy for you.

  2. Jessie Pert Says:

    Awesome 🙂 Dave and I say CONGRATS to both of you!!

  3. Joni Says:

    Well yeah, a Leavitt doesn’t ANYTHING without a coupon!!!! :.)

  4. wellnessmom Says:

    I’m getting teary-eyed again reading this! Love you guys and cannot wait to meet your precious baby!


Leave a comment